The first time I saw those little critters, I just wanted to squeeeeeze them.

Polly and Waffle were complete opposites. Polly was skinny and had white as snow fur while Waffle was fatter, and mud brown. Waffle was always lazing about, doing nothing except for drinking and eating. Polly was a lot more active, she would run laps of their home all day. If you were to meet Polly and Waffle, you probably think they were cute, well, maybe until Polly tried to bite your hand off.

Polly and Waffle were my favourite childhood pets. They were rats. That’s right, plain old rats, not the dirty, gigantic, scary rats you find in the sewer, the cute little ones that you want to keep forever. That’s what I wanted to do, but, sadly, it didn’t play out that way…

It was shocking news when I heard Polly and Waffle had passed away. I wish they could live a bit longer, but I guess that’s how it goes. I really miss Polly and Waffle, I felt so upset, it was like losing a family member. What was even sadder was that they didn’t die at our house, they died at my Mum’s friend’s house.

-Ethan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *