“You never realised how much you inspired all of us.”

Wednesday, 28th of August 2002 was the day their hearts shattered. They got a call that no parent should ever have to get.

My Uncle Adam passed away at Hallett Cove beach on that day due to a heart problem that no one knew about. Adam was fit. He was a triathlete, and he loved to play footy and do lots of other sports, just like me. Everyone who knew him said he was a fantastic police officer. His friends said he would never give up on anything and always have a go.

His friends also tell me I’m a mirror image of him. Same smile. Same bubbly personality. My nan and pop are always telling me how much I remind them of Adam. I think that it gives them comfort that they see him in me.

I was born a few years after he passed, so I never got to meet him. My mum says he was a kind, caring and loving brother and an easy person to get along with. I think it was really hard for my mum because he was her only sibling. It’s also been tough for me to grow up without my uncle, Adam. But at least I get to see him whenever I go over to my nan and pop’s house because they have photos all over their house. Sometimes I like to think that he is with me when I need him.

At Hallett Cove Beach there is a bench overlooking the water that has a memorial plaque remembering Uncle Adam. His friends organised it after his passing. It is a place to meet and enjoy the view I think he would’ve loved. Whenever my nan and pop visit the bench, they sit and talk, and remember him. It is a happy spot, a place of solace for them.

Since Uncle Adam passed away, his girlfriend Rachel has been a big part of my life. She is like an Aunt to me. About six or seven years ago she had a little girl who is like a cousin to me. Out of all of his friends I see her the most. My Aunty Rachel and little cousin have always been there for me when I’ve needed them. She is family.

Really, all of my uncle’s friends are like family to me.

Genuine.

Even though he is not with us, I feel like he is and I feel like I know him. We celebrate the things he left us, and the person he was. When I am on the board in the waves, I can picture him next to me.

“One last wave.”

-Phoenix

2 thoughts on “One Last Wave

  1. What a great story. I really love the way you play with the form, short sentences and single lines to make a few words have more impact. Your Uncle Adam sounds like an amazing man.

  2. Your story brought tears to my eyes. (A sign of a good story bec/ it made someone feel.) The beautiful way you wove your words allowed the reader to feel the sadness of the loss yet feel the gift that your uncle left behind, hope. You wrote bravely about something so personal and took the reader on a delightful journey. I am sure he would be so proud!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *