Mum’s always telling me how lucky she is to be in Australia, so she could have a better life, and give us a better life.

I never really knew about this part of my mum’s life until just recently, and now this project has allowed me to put part of her story on paper.

My mum was born in Iran and grew up happy there. But when the government changed, it changed my mum and her family’s life. My grandpa wasn’t allowed to work anymore because of his religious beliefs, which meant he couldn’t earn any money for his family who couldn’t study or work.

I asked my mum about her school life, and she told me how different it was compared to mine. The teachers were a lot stricter, and there was a lot more homework, so I really appreciate how nice my teachers are *wink*. Unfortunately, when the government in Iran changed so did her life at school, she didn’t like it anymore. Mum explained that because of her religion, she had to sit separately from everyone else in her classroom. At lunchtime, she wasn’t allowed to talk to anyone, and she wasn’t permitted to go on excursions.

Some of the teachers were very rude to her, and others who had always been nice weren’t allowed to show her any kindness. Sometimes she would cry and get upset because of the circumstances. After she finished high school, she could not continue studying or working, so my mum’s family moved to Australia.

My mum and her family were happy that they came to Australia but there was one big problem, they couldn’t speak any English. Learning a new language and new culture in a different country was difficult at first, but eventually, they learnt.

The things she misses most are her hometown, her relatives and friends that she hasn’t seen for 28 years. She would spend her summer holidays with some of her 19 cousins after the long, six-day school weeks during the year. She misses them.

I’d love to go to my mum’s hometown someday if circumstances change. It really makes me think about how different it is to live here.

-Laura

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *