I was born in 2001. I’m 17 years old!

That year, three lovely people moved into me. They were Anna, Mal and a six-year-old boy named Brodie. A fourth child, a cute, chubby baby named Tiana, was still a few years away from being born.

Over the next five years, I was filled with lots of new furniture, floors were finished, and Anna built me a rock wall in the backyard. It was 2006 when Anna got pregnant, and I found out, a new person was moving into me.

I was so excited on the day that Mal and Anna went to the hospital. Not long after, the little baby girl named Tiana was born. There was lots crying and poop explosions! But Anna was very happy that she finally had her dream baby.

As the years went on, Tiana grew up, and there were many birthday parties. Kids laughing and screaming, splashing in the pool, “Happy Birthday” being sung, and wrapping paper and streamers spread around the floor. One time, a kid at a party said to Tiana “Wow! You live in a mansion!” I felt pretty happy about that.

Now the smelly nappies have been replaced by perfume (lots of perfume! Especially in Tiana’s room). It hasn’t all been easy, though. Once Brodie got older, he moved to his mother’s house (it’s hard to let go of a family member). One time, Anna threw a fake snake at the birds that were pooping and blocking my gutters. But, the snake got stuck on my Foxtel wire, and they had to use a tree saw to get the snake off. Also, because I’m near the beach, sometimes there’s lots of wind, and when it comes I start to shake, and I get scared.

A house isn’t always just a house. If you make memories in it, it’s a home. I hope I’ve been a happy home.

-Tiana

1 thought on “I Have A Number, Not A Name

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *