It was just me and mum for practically my whole life growing up. Just us two. When I think about it, it was never really that hard because it was the only thing I knew. Some people might think it is sad, but I had just as many opportunities as anyone else, and at the time, all I needed was her. There were certain times when it was more difficult though.

If we went on holiday, we would often take others with us because I didn’t have any siblings to play with while I was there. Plus it meant that my mum had another adult to talk to, which was probably a big relief.

I cherished those holidays when it was just her and me. We would ride on the biggest, scariest roller-coasters and we would order the tastiest room service. We had experiences and fun that I will never forget. Mum was always enough for me, but eventually, she didn’t have to be.

Enter John.

John has always brought something to our household, not something that you can physically see, although his cooking is pretty great, it’s more like a sense of security. Sometimes it’s as simple as just having company after school while mum’s still at work. At times, it seems like we are still adjusting to life with each other, but there’s there’s no doubt that I appreciate coming home to see him.

Enter Mackenzie.

She used to be super easy to get along with, but then again, that’s when she couldn’t move. Now she’s ten months and my biggest distraction, I can’t complain there’s nothing to do. Most days when I get home, I’m bombarded by her constant crying and unmistakable babbling. Other days, it’s the opposite. As I’m sure any parents or siblings can relate to, it’s really nice when she’s asleep. But in all honesty, I really look forward to seeing her.

My life has changed forever. Living in a nuclear family is hugely different from before, but I know that whatever happens along the way, it will all be for the best.

-Lynton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *